Connecting Readers and Ohio Writers


MEDIA RELEASE – July 18, 2016                                


2016 Ohioana Award winners Announced

Literary prizes to be presented September 23 at Ohio Statehouse

Columbus, OH (July 18, 2016) —The Ohioana Library has announced the winners of the 2016 Ohioana Book Awards.

The awards, established in 1942, honor Ohio authors in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Juvenile Literature, and Middle Grade/Young Adult Literature. The final category, About Ohio or an Ohioan, may also include books by non-Ohio authors. The Ohioana Awards are among the oldest and longest-established state literary prizes in the nation.

“From the nearly 300 books that were eligible for this year’s awards, thirty finalists in six categories were selected by jurors,” said David Weaver, Executive Director of the Ohioana Library. “To make this short list is itself recognition of excellence and selecting a winner is a challenge. The books and authors chosen as 2016’s honorees are truly stellar.”

This year marks the 75th anniversary of the awards, which will be presented at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus on Friday, September 23.

The winners are:


Mary Doria Russell. Epitaph: A Novel of the O.K. Corral. Ecco, 2015.


Wil Haygood. Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination That          

    Changed America. Knopf, 2015.

About Ohio or an Ohioan

David McCullough. The Wright Brothers. Simon & Schuster, 2015.


Nin Andrews. Why God Is a Woman. BOA Editions Ltd., 2015.